By: Rev. Ed Schneider

Beloved, I know most of you have started to get accustomed to my theological and biblical discourse, however, during this offering I find myself greatly concerned about the overt rudeness I hear and see between people from a wide variety classifications. During the last decade or so I have witnessed an upheaval in how we treat and communicate with each other.

Apparently what used to be an everyday “normal” sense of polite public demeanor is now thought of as out-of-style, archaic or – even worse – unnecessary.

It shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone that Republicans, Democrats, Libertarians and Independents alike are guilty of saying one thing in public and doing or saying a completely different thing in private. Young men and women across all racial, economic and social lines of distinction are faltering under the weight of public apathy against vulgar and demeaning language.

I can plainly remember while I was being parented by my maternal grandmother she would seemingly supply daily lessons to me concerning what she firmly believed to be reasonable deportments of behavior. Long after her death, I still hear her voice guiding me on my interactions with others. What to say, when to say it, and the attitude behind the communication offered was an essential building block of her instruction to me. Because of her unyielding influence, I have continually and positively expanded the ways I treat others. These standards of verbal interaction, these bits of “learned wisdom” regarding courteous attitudes and language have not only guided me personally, they have also infiltrated what I demand of my own children, preach from the pulpit and teach within any classroom concerning the same subject matter.

With the hope of supplying a few practical suggestions of what “should be” reasonable…standardized…and socially expected attitudes and actions between any human beings with IQ’s of over 50….here are a few things I have added to her list of “common” courtesy.

If you wouldn’t say it to your own mother don’t say it to any other female.

• Don’t find yourself treating strangers better than you treat your own family.

Whatever you say is the right thing to do “in public” ought to be the same you demonstrate “in private.”

• Find several people to uplift sincerely each day.

• Find the positive far quicker than the negative.

• Be honest in business, faithful in your church commitments, generous to those who are in genuine need, and kind-hearted t those in pain.

• Take out the trash, make your bed, and pick up after yourself before someone else finds it necessary to remind you to do it.

• It is never OK to stand aside while someone else is being humiliated or abused.

Make sure your friends know they can count on you for help and support.

• Respect another person’s privacy and be sensitive to their sense of personal pride.

Pray like everything depends on God, and work like everything depends on you.

• Make sure you listen intently to another person’s thoughts before you offer any thoughts of your own.

In my mind, if all of us could follow the aforementioned simple and clearly defined rules of public and private behavior we would find the world around us an easier and more joyful place to be.

Plus, I know it would make my grandmother very pleased.

Peace.IMG_0358.JPG

